|Hudec Memorial Hall officially opened
|The Hudec Memorial Hall is officially opened to the public in Changning District today to commemorate the 120th anniversary of the famous Hungarian architect Hudec`s birthday. More than 60 old buildings designed by Hudec still exist, and nearly half of them are categorized as outstanding historical buildings or cultural relics under protection in Shanghai, like the International Hotel, the Grand Cinema, the Paramount, and the Immanuel Lutheran Church. These magnificent buildings, as classics created by Hudec, has become the valuable assets of Shanghai.
Hudec`s former residence is located at No.129, Panyu Road, where he lived from 1931 to 1937, the prime of his career in Shanghai. In 1893, Hudec was born into an architecture family in Slovakia. In 1918, he came to Shanghai as a war exile and became an assistant architect in an American architectural firm. At the age of 32, he started his own architectural design firm in Shanghai.
Hudec`s former residence was recognized as an outstanding historical building in Shanghai on October 31, 2005. It is a garden house built in 1931, covering an area of about 600 square meters. The whole house resembles an English country cottage, with its white walls, brown slates, dark brown wooden frame, and reddish-brown brick walls producing a rich color gradation. Having been newly repaired, its first floor will be open to the public as the Hudec Memorial Hall. The exhibits are already in place, and in the showcases are not only pictures of Hudec`s classic architecture but his life pictures provided by his family and some real objects that he had used as well.